Finding Nirvana as an ADHD Sufferer

On April 13 I wrote the following.

IMG_0248My daughter, bless her soul, suffers from dysfunctional ADHD which she inherited from me. I feel guilty about passing it on to her.

Or sometimes I feel smug.

For example recently I felt smug when she lost her keys because I’ve learned two rules to stop losing my keys. I didn’t explain my rules while she was tearful about losing hers, but maybe writing about them would work.

My rules to avoid suffering missing car keys:  1. Always hang keys on the same hook.  2. When I think of a better place to put them for whatever reason, never put them there and follow rule number 1. That’s simple.

Except it’s not that simple for me. I keep each key for our two cars on separate rings so each and fit snugly in my pockets.

But my key for Karen’s car is not on the hook right now.

I, like many ADHD sufferers, used to beat myself up for wasting time looking for my keys. A search would frustrate those around me. I would apologize and feel more guilty, which reduces the effectiveness of my search. It is not pleasant which is why I always follow my two rules.

Right now I’m not suffering because I’m practicing Buddha’s four noble truths to avoid suffering. As I understand Buddha’s truths, we suffer. The causes of suffering are desire and ignorance. I want my key and I don’t know where it is. I can reduce suffering by reducing desire and gaining knowledge of where my key is. Fourth, I need to follow the path to enlightenment.

My path is to deny desire for the key. I wonder where it is: in a coat pocket, vest, dresser or pants. I can’t remember the last time I drove Karen’s car, or gave it to her to drive us.

Last night I asked her if she knows where my key is and she said, “I hope I don’t have it.” She borrows mine because it takes up less room than her set of keys. I know her key is hanging on her hook because I’ve already checked.

She doesn’t appear to be suffering about my key either, so maybe she’s more enlightened by Buddha’s path than I am.

My path seems enlightened. I’m enjoying writing this and I’m curious about where my key is.

On April 14 I wrote the following. When I came home late last night, my missing key was hanging on its hook. Am I experiencing nirvana?

 

 

About Russellsclearskies

Writing to poke fun at a retired klutz like me who's curiously exploring the absurdities and complexities of the good life. .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Nirvana as an ADHD Sufferer

  1. barbaratilly says:

    Jim, I enjoyed this–thank you for sending it! Barbara Tilly

Leave a Reply

