Building Relationships By Sharing Organs and Chocolate Cake

Ten years ago Jake MacKinnon was succumbing to Type I Diabetes when he received a pancreas transplant that saved his life, according to This Week magazine. The MacKinnon family and the family of the donor, Kalern Millard, became friends. Now Bill Millard from Kalern’s family has kidney failure and Jake’s mother, Janice, volunteered to donate the kidney. Janice said, “You say ‘thank you’ when someone opens a door for you. There are no words for this.”

That story started me thinking about strengthening communities by organizing donor sharing groups by matching up gene pools in advance. Each family would be aware that another family in the community is partnered with them, but they would not know their names.

Think of the benefit of knowing every family you see could be your donor partner.

The community would be more health conscious. People would be more willing to provide universal health coverage, support new health clinics. People in good health could get certification of HQH: high quality health. Stores could offer HQH certified people food discounts. They could put bumper stickers on their cars saying, “My family has a straight A Health Rating.”

More parks and recreation would be supported so people would exercise. Slogans could encourage us to exercise such as, “Join me in exercise in case our organs join some day.””

Drivers would be more conscious of others on the road, never running red lights and thereby eliminating the need for cameras on traffic lights.

Local food markets would flourish even faster to keep us eating healthy. Fresh produce stands would generate even more support. People would encourage each other to avoid junk food.

All these benefits from knowing we are all here to help each other.

Fifty-one years of Marriage and Sharing Chocolate Cake. Fifty-one years of marriage takes work, especially on crucial issues like chocolate cake and diets.

Karen bought me two small chocolate cakes each half the size of a bread loaf for my birthday even though she knows I’m cutting down on the amount of added sugar I eat. I questioned her about that. She said they were small and she did it last year.

So I planned to put them in the refrigerator and eat small bites at each meal. I like cold cake and a little ice cream.

Karen would help because she sneaks small bites even though she avoids added sugar better than I do. She refers to her sneak attacks as “neatening up” a haphazardly cut cake.

Those reasonable rationalizations allowed me to slide into more added sugar.

The first cake was lasting too long. I was eating all of it, so I took bigger bites that were too large for my diet.

I accused Karen of not helping.  She said she doesn’t like them in the refrigerator. She neatens them up when they’re warmer and more moist.

So I put them on the counter. It worked to finish off the first one, but the second one would end up back in the refrigerator.

Again, I accused her of not helping. She admitted it. She told me she knew I liked them better in the refrigerator so she put them back.

We compromised and finished the last one.

We’re in our fifty-first year of marriage and still working on the fine details.

About Russellsclearskies

Writing to poke fun at a retired klutz like me who's curiously exploring the absurdities and complexities of the good life. .
This entry was posted in Community Building, Fuzzy Skies Humor, Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Building Relationships By Sharing Organs and Chocolate Cake

  1. Jane says:

    I loved this. It is full of ideas that should be supported by all the optimists of our world.

  2. Susan Griggs says:

    Good idea.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

